HAND TURKEYS Y’ALL (And Why Kids Have It All Figured Out)

UPDATE (2017-11-13 10:15 AM EST): Changing the time! To allow more people to participate globally, we’re gonna do it earlier in the day. Still on Friday, November 17th, but now we’re doing it at 1:30 PM EST (10:30 AM PST, 6:30 PM UTC, even earlier so you better pull an all nighter:30 AM AEDT).

So, we were all kids once (the vast majority of us anyway) and for many of us, that meant fun arts and crafts during our formative school years. When I was in kindergarten, we had a list of skills that we were required to learn over the course of the school year. In order to keep track of those skills, we would be given badges to color as we learned them. After we colored the badges, we would paste them onto thin vertical paper banners to showcase our progress. By the end of the year, the classroom was filled with these colorful banners covered in badges, displaying both what we learned and our creativity as we learned it. Plus, each student got to take their banner home as a keepsake once summer came.

Continue reading “HAND TURKEYS Y’ALL (And Why Kids Have It All Figured Out)”